Standing Together

I realize that I am posting this a day late, but it has been on my mind. Yesterday was International Women’s Day and has had me thinking about all of the most important women in my life and how I would not be the person I am today, without them and their presence in my life.

TG

My beautiful sister, who pushes me to be better person. She is intelligent, beautiful, and 100% unique, always has been and I love her more for that. I have admired her my entire life. My friends all over the world, who stand up for what they believe in, no matter what the push back might entail. We encourage each other and I know that no matter how far apart we might be, the moment we get together and go hiking, fishing, or share a glass of wine it will be as if we haven’t skipped a beat. My beautiful nieces, who remind me to be kind, patient, silly, and love with my entire heart. I know the list continues and I can’t name you all, know that I stand with you.

But to the lady who loves me no matter what, the lady that gave me life…My mother. She has always been my biggest cheerleader and supporter, even when I am sure she worries and loses sleep. When I pointed out the fact that I didn’t want to add stress in her life, her response was simple. “It is part of being a mother.I want you to do what will make you happy.” Selfless and strong. The little things like sending that text message on a big day to calling at the exact moment that I need her, how does she do that every time?  I know that she stays strong every time we say good-bye at the airport. She puts on a huge smile, wishes me the best in my travels, and waves me through security. I, of course, am a blubbering mess and never say all of the things I would like to say. So I squeeze out a ‘thank you’ and  ‘I love you’ and off I go, trying to not let her see the tears in my eyes.

I look around my classroom today and hope that my female students have strong role models in their lives. I hope they know that they have all the same rights in this world, no matter where they are from. That they can stand up for what they believe in, and I will forever and always be on their side.

Scattered across the globe, I know we are all standing together.

6 thoughts on “Standing Together

  1. What wonderful words to share with us as well as your sister, mother, and students. This is a pivotal year for women; I feel a strength of spirit emerging, and can feel the same in your writing!

    Like

  2. I love the quote and I love your post. I have many strong women in my life and hope for my daughters and granddaughters that they will continue to have the same. But as much as I wish this for all women, I do worry about generations of young men who do not have strong male role models. I think this is another crisis in the making in our country and worldwide.

    Like

Leave a Reply

