Pause

slice-of-life_individual

Today was a blur, for all of us. Students finishing their agendas, conferring with me, reviewing their rubrics, and finally practicing for their first ever student-led-conferences. Emotions were high, stress was sinking in, and procrastination was in full force!  However, we worked hard and were ready to practice with a friend (acting as our parent) and the alarm goes off. A lockdown. The kids silently stopped what they were doing and found a quiet place to sit in the corner while I rushed to lock the doors and close the windows. We sat, and sat some more. At first, all I could think about were the conferences that we needed to practice for, this was the only time in the day to practice. And here we were, in a lockdown.

However, we worked hard and we were ready to practice with a friend (acting as our parent). Kids were anxious, getting all of their silliness out of them, and finally settling into their roles when the alarm goes off. A lockdown. The kids silently stopped what they were doing and found a quiet place to sit in the corner while I rushed to lock the doors and close the windows. We sat, and sat, and sat some more. At first, all I could think about were the conferences that we needed to practice for, this was the only time in the day to practice. And here we were, in a lockdown, sitting.

But as the alarm continued, my heart started to beat a little faster and all I could think about was how I was going to keep these little kids safe if we were in an actual lockdown situation. Were we in danger? Was this a drill? The alarm continued, it seemed like too long for a drill. The kids all remained calm and quiet. Looking around at all of these faces, I took the moment to just breathe. I think it was the first time we had stopped all day.  Perhaps, they could feel it too. A chance to stop and not think about all of their work. In the end, it was just a  drill.

In the craziness of the day, I am thankful for the alarm and the fact that it made us all stop. It always amazes me how life works. Sometimes our bodies tell us to stop with an injury or an illness, sometimes it is a train we get stuck behind or someone that is taking forever in the bathroom. All of these moments, there is a reason. If nothing else but as a reminder to stop, look around, and be grateful for what you have.

I am thankful for many things, but I feel so fortunate with my class of students this year. They are incredibly thoughtful, kind, patient, creative, respectful and reflective kids. I am positive they will impress me even more in their conferences tomorrow, I can’t wait. I also know that it will be a busy couple of days, but I will try to remind myself to stop, pause, look around, and be thankful.

3 thoughts on “Pause

  1. What a great reflection! Funny how things work out that way. When you least expect it, something hits the pause button for you and what initially seems an intrusion into your schedule becomes a moment well needed. Glad you found it to be a positive and good luck with your conferences!

    Like

  2. Your writing evokes the mounting tension that we feel during these lockdowns, how you shift from the ordinary into crisis mode, with that hanging fear – is this real? Loved this. Yes, lockdowns can be reminders “to stop, pause, look around, and be thankful.”

    Like

  3. You had great tension here and it was so real! Your students are lucky to have a teacher who remembers to breathe and be grateful- you inspire by your words and actions. Funny how we both felt initial stress and then let it go.

    Like

Leave a Reply

